Five years ago in July when we said I Do. We wrote our own vows but we wanted to make sure to include the traditional vows. It was important for us to honor the vows our parents also said to each other.

to have and to hold,
from this day forward,
for better, for worse,
for richer, for poorer,
in sickness and in health,
to love and to cherish,
till death do us part.

When you say those vows as you are looking into the eyes of your soon to be spouse, you mean every word. You believe in your love so much that you decide to make it public and celebrate the moment in front of family and friends. It’s something to be celebrated.

When you say those vows you assume some of those situations will come but much later in your life. You never dream that you may have to face some of those situations much sooner than you planned.

Over the past year LaRonne and I have been put to the test. We begun a journey that has been uncertain, difficult, scary and confusing. But in all of that it has also been full of God’s glory. LaRonne has been my anchor. He has gone to every doctor appointment with me. He has been there for the good news and the devastating news.

He has wiped every tear. Prayed over me. Held me. Sat next to me as I would scream in frustration. Encouraged me to express myself. He has honored those vows and has been a walking example of the vows we said to each other.

Through all these moments whether they were happy or sad.  I have realized that those vows I hold so dear. Those vows that mean so much to me; God has also honored each of those vows.

He has held us in our pain.
Through the good times and the bad.
When we were in debt and when we became debt free.
When we are healthy and when we are not.
When we were brokenhearted. He is there.
He gave us peace in the pain.

In the midst of the madness He has been there every step of the way. He has moved mountains so that we could be exactly where we are right at this very moment.

A few years ago as I visited my friends church. That day they decided to debut a song that they finished writing. One of the lines was, “Who can stop the Lord all mighty“. At the time I remember listening to that and letting it sink in. But I didn’t give it another thought. You can listen to the song here.

A year or more later they put out their worship album and that song was on there. Just at the time where our situation was beginning to feel helpless. God was reminding me that no matter how desperate our situation may look, that NO ONE can stop His plan for us.

to have and to hold,
from this day forward,
for better, for worse,
for richer, for poorer,
in sickness and in health,
to love and to cherish,
till death do us part.

 

